About the Tyne Bridge Constituency

Tyne Bridge constituency - as its name suggests - spans the river Tyne.

Map of the Tyne Bridge Constituency
David's constituency is bordered in Yellow.
Larger scale map (257K)

Image produced from the Ordnance Survey Election-Map service. Image reproduced with kind permission of Ordnance Survey and Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland.

It includes the Newcastle upon Tyne local government wards of Benwell, Elswick, Scotswood and West City; and the Gateshead wards of Bede, Bensham, Deckham, Dunston, Saltwell and Teams.

The constituency was first created in 1981 by bringing together the former constituencies of Newcastle Central and Gateshead West, following a review of all constituencies by the Boundary Commission for England. Then it consisted of 8 wards. The boundary Commission review of 1990 increased its size by adding Deckham and Saltwell.

Boundary changes meant that the Tyne Bridge Constituency disappeared at the 2010 General Election.

Return to Homepage

Promoted by Ken Childs on behalf of David Clelland, both of 19 Ravensworth Road, Dunston, Gateshead. NE11 9AB